Introducing Helix

We are pleased to introduce Helix, a half-scale non-reinforced precast concrete spiral stair. Helix will be on exhibit at the BSA Space until May 15, 2013. The gallery is open Mondays through Fridays from 10:00AM to 6:00PM and until 5:00PM on weekends and holidays. The Gallery is located at 290 Congress Street, Suite 200, Boston, MA 02210.

A special thanks to Matthew Johnson and Simpson Gumpertz & Heger for their facilities, support, and expertise. Another special thanks to Boston Sand & GravelLehigh Northeast Cement Company, and Headwaters Resources, Inc. for their material donations that made this project possible.

Design Biennial Boston


We are pleased to announce that Matter Design will be exhibiting at this years Design Biennial Boston. We have been busy casting a half-scale spiral staircase we call 'Helix' that will skewer the existing entry stair at the BSA. This project is a continuation of our dedication to volume with a series of scale prototypes and applied research translating past methods of making into contemporary culture. We hope to see you there and please spread the word! Please join us for the opening of the third Design Biennial Boston. Thursday, 21 February 2013, from 6 to 8 p.m. at BSA Space, 290 Congress Street, Boston. For directions, please click here.

The Boston Society of Architects and pinkcomma gallery recognize emerging practices and designers in the Biennial exhibition. The program showcases significant design talent among Greater Boston’s early-career, independent practitioners through a juried exhibition, publication, and four site-specific installations at BSA Space. This year's participants are Brandon Clifford and Wes McGee of Matter Design, Wilson Martin and Eden Dutcher of GroundView, Ana Miljacki and Lee Moreau of Project_, and Kiel Moe.

The exhibition will include an archive of works by the 2008 participants (Ground, Höweler + Yoon Architecture, LinOldhamOffice, Merge Architects, MOS, over,under, SsD, Studio Luz Architects, UNI and Utile) and the 2010 winners (C&MP, Dan Hisel Architect, Schneider Studio, Touloukian Touloukian and William O’Brien, Jr.)